Live to Forgive: Subordination

In Divine Conspiracy, Dallas Willard states: “…it is not uncommon for people to think that they can treasure this world and the invisible kingdom as well, that they can serve both. Perhaps we can make this work for a while. But there will come a time when one must be subordinate to the other. We simply cannot have two ultimate goals or points of reference for our actions. That is how life is, no one escapes (pg. 207).”

The conflict for me personally arises in regard to loyalty. Will I be loyal to an organization or the expectations of people over God? This kind of tension begins to build for me when the organization has either compromised Christian ethics or morals. I have no choice but to turn away from the organization and turn toward God no matter what the earthly loss is.

I have to accept that some will also turn away from me believing my loyalty can remain with both. My loyalty to God can never be compromised. I can live with the sacrifice of changing relationships with organizations and people, but I can’t live with the sacrifice of damaging my relationship with God.

Exodus 20:3 states, “You must not have any other God but me.”

Everything must remain subordinate to my relationship to God!

God please forgive me for the times I have compromised my loyalty to you for the sake of earthly treasure. Help me to be willing to sacrifice what I must to keep everything else subordinate to my love for you. In Jesus name, Amen!

Leave a comment